Here you’ll find information about me, the Asperger’s Mystery series from Midnight Ink and the Haunted Guesthouse Mystery series from Berkley Prime Crime! You can follow me on Twitter here, or be my friend on Facebook. And if you’re interested in ghosts, the Jersey Shore, and just enjoying a funny, spooky, exciting mystery novel, you’re in the right place! Look around; spend some time.

Get in touch with me at ejcopperman (at) gmail (dot) com and ask questions or say hello. And please follow my blog, Sliced Bread. Thanks for visiting!


Coming (sort of) soon: THE QUESTION OF THE UNFAMILIAR HUSBAND, the second Asperger’s Mystery from E.J. Copperman/Jeff Cohen, will be available October 8! In this novel, Samuel is asked by a woman who went to a party and woke up next to a man claiming to be her spouse, “Who is that man in my bed who says he’s my husband?” Samuel thinks maybe he needs Janet Washburn to return for this one.

You can read the first chapter here!

December 1 will be the release date of GHOST IN THE WIND, the seventh Haunted Guesthouse mystery from Berkley Prime Crime! Usually Alison has to be dragged kicking and screaming into an investigation but this time she’s the one jumping in with both feet: Her musical idol Vance McTernan, dead for years, comes to the guesthouse to ask for help finding out who killed his adult daughter–who the police said died of an allergic reaction. (Plus there’s a kick-ass concert at Alison’s house you won’t want to miss!)

In 2016, you’ll (hopefully) see the debuts of TWO new series from E.J. Copperman: DOG DISH OF DOOM, the first Agent to the Paws Mystery from Thomas Dunne Books and WRITTEN OUT, the first Mysterious Detective Mystery from Crooked Lane Books. In the former, Kay Powell is a theatrical agent whose clients are not human. No, they’re not Hollywood stars; they’re animals. So when she tries to get Bruno, a big fuzzy dog, a job in the latest Broadway revival of Annie, all looks good–until Bruno’s owner is stabbed in the back and falls face down into Bruno’s water dish.

In WRITTEN OUT, Rachel Goldman writes mystery novels about a special consultant to the county prosecutor named Duffy Madison who specializes in missing persons cases. Then she’s contacted about a missing mystery author by a special consultant to the county prosecutor who specializes in missing persons cases. And is named Duffy Madison.

Release dates when available, I promise!

MISSING HEAD CHALLENGE: A big success! Thanks to those who posted pictures of themselves with copies of THE QUESTION OF THE MISSING HEAD, the Autism SPectrum Education Network (ASPEN) has received donations of $1000! Thanks to all of you and remember–you can still post a picture!

For an excerpt (basically the first three chapters), click here!

Getting ready for the Deadly Ink conference in New Brunswick, NJ. It’s an intimate, fun conference where readers get to sit and talk with authors pretty much all they like, so if you’re in the area, stop by! Here’s more about Deadly Ink.

(Not to mention, THE QUESTION OF THE MISSING HEAD will be in contention at Deadly Ink as one of the finalists for the David Award, so if you’re around, please vote early and often!)

Congratulations to Dru Ann Love, who won the Trivia Contest at Shelly’s Book Case! Delivery of the INSPECTOR SPECTER tote bag will be imminent!

THE THRILL OF THE HAUNT listed as one of the Top 11 of 2013 at Stuff and Nonsense and mentioned in the 2013 wrap-up at Jenn’s Bookshelves!

Congratulations to Terry Parrish, who won a Visa gift card at Cozy Chicks blog! (And all she did was answer a question about THE THRILL OF THE HAUNT!)

AN OPEN SPOOK, the latest eSpecial novella in the Haunted Guesthouse mystery series (told by Loretta Kerby this time) has a preview of THE THRILL OF THE HAUNT, the fifth novel in the series, and is now available everywhere! You can see a personal message from E.J. here to find out more! For the first chapter of THE THRILL OF THE HAUNT, click here!

The audiobook version of all the Haunted Guesthouse novels and the eSpecials A WILD GHOST CHASE and AN OPEN SPOOK are now available on audiobook from Audible! You can check them out and order them here!

Available now: A WILD GHOST CHASE–A Haunted Guesthouse eSpecial!
Paul Harrison is a dedicated investigator. He’s also dead. So being in the haunted guesthouse on the Jersey Shore has been something of a trial for him, especially since he longs for a case to engage his mind. When Alison Kerby tells him she can’t take on any more investigations, Paul chooses not to inform her he’s agreed to one: He’s going to try and find the mother of a nine-year-old ghost who calls himself Eagle of the Sun. The problem: Both ghosts have been dead for more than 200 years, and Eagle of the Sun seems to be holding some information back…

Congrats to my pal Jeff Cohen, who won a Barry Award (Best Short Story for “The Gun Also Rises”) at the Rock ‘N Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland! Also, Jeff’s Comedy Tonight (formerly “Double Feature”) mystery series is now available again! For more details: check out Jeff’s web site.


To celebrate the publication of THE THRILL OF THE HAUNT, the fifth Haunted Guesthouse mystery, I’m visiting a number of blogs and web sites:

At Writerspace, the rules of writing ghosts!

At Rocco (the cat)’s blog Cats Books and More Cats, I discuss–not cats! Except that the cat interviews me…

At Dru’s Book Musings, a day in the death of Maxie Malone.

At Jungle Red Writers, the power of character.

Night of the Living Deed 

“Funny, charming, and thoroughly enjoyable. I look forward to the next installment.”
—Gloria Feit, I Love a Mystery

“Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish this original, laugh-laden paranormal mystery featuring reluctant ghost whisperer Alison Kerby, a Topper for the 21st century. Meticulously crafted, Night of the Living Deed is a sparkling first entry in a promising new series.”
—Julia Spencer-Fleming, Anthony and Agatha Award winning author of One Was A Soldier


Bookmark Offer

If you’d like a Night of the Living Deed bookmark signed by E.J. Copperman, just send your email and snail mail addresses to: ejcopperman (at) gmail (dot) com, and one will be on its way! While supplies last (meaning, until I run out of stamps)!